Ripping the Second Bandaid Off

I just told my children I am moving. They didn’t seem as upset as when I told them I was leaving their father. Still, tears all around.

My daughter didn’t say anything other than she was going in their room and my son asked how far away it is. Then they both went to different rooms. I am still on the couch crying.

But…. now I only have to tell their father, and I already know how that will go. I don’t really care what he threatens to do because if I am willing to come back to see them he can’t keep them from me. That’s all I care about.

There is no school tomorrow due to a Nor’easter coming, and I hope that we can process and begin to pick up the pieces. I know it will take time.

I feel relieved but very sad.

2 thoughts on “Ripping the Second Bandaid Off

Leave a Reply

