Can You Sleep Now Brain???

Today was another relatively quiet day, even though my children and I were forced to be inside together for snow day #2. Mostly we were in separate rooms doing different things, but sometimes it is better that way as the teen girl child is very easily annoyed by her brother and me.

I have not yet told their father, but they did not seem to feel uncomfortable with me. I was surprised at their resilience, and wondered if they knew somehow on some level or if their father had hinted with my frequent out of town visits.

I guess it doesn’t much matter, they know now and they will certainly be better with it sooner than their father. I still felt a little sad and guilty during the afternoon, and that it was way too easy telling them, there will be a huge freak out soon. But it was like I hadn’t said a word.

I took them back to their father’s before he came home from work, on purpose, and they both gave me affection which is very unusual! I’ll take it as a good sign though!

I came home and binge watched Netflix the rest of the day, and then felt better. I even went to bed at 10:30, which is much earlier than my usual unemployed bedtime!

But. My brain wouldn’t be still and was excitedly making lists of things to do and small things I can ship to my new address and what to say to Almost Ex…. Ugh! I didn’t feel like reading or being crafty…. So I cleaned out a bag of receipts and old coupons, and then found some unused picture frames and some other small knickknacks and packed them, and researched shipping rates for the Postal Service and other carriers. I figure sending little things ahead may help lower my moving truck expense.

And now, I think my brain is ready to end the day. Funny how being productive can soothe.

Leave a Reply

